Help line 1 800 630-0907 (ailleurs au Québec, sans frais) 514 630-0907 (Montréal)

What is an eating disorder?

You’ve probably noticed that our emotions and the way we eat are intimately connected. Think about it… have you ever been unable to eat because of stress (the night before an exam, for instance)? Have you ever eaten to relieve anxiety and to feel better? Skipped a meal because you were feeling fat? Or felt guilty after eating one food in particular?

We all have a hard time, to some extent, eating in a balanced way, appreciating our bodies, and taking care of our bodies in the best way possible. It’s completely okay to eat a bit more than you need to from time to time, or to occasionally eat something you enjoy to calm your nerves, but this can become problematic when food, the action of eating or refraining from eating, becomes the only method you use to control emotions that make you uncomfortable. Some people end up developing what we call an eating disorder in response to difficult situations they face in life.

You have no doubt heard of anorexia or bulimia; up until quite recently, they were the most well-known eating disorders. Today, thanks to advances in research, we are starting to talk more about more about different kinds, such as binge-eating disorder and other eating disorders (like bigorexia). Eating disorders are complex mental health problems and are not to be taken lightly.

What are the causes of eating disorders?

There are a multitude of factors that can lead a person to suffer from an eating disorder. This means that there isn’t just one cause, but a combination of factors that lead someone to develop an eating disorder.

Learn more

When are people most susceptible to developing eating disorders?

Adolescence and young adulthood, from around 14 to 25 years of age, is the time when people are most at risk of developing eating disorders. Why? Adolescence and young adulthood are periods when we go through a lot of change, experience a lot of new things, and encounter stressful events. This includes the transition from one level of schooling to another, the first time dating or having sexual relations, puberty, moving out from the home you grew up in and living alone or with roommates, trying to get on the job market, etc.

It’s a period of adaptation where you’re searching for your identity, learning who you are, developing your personality and asserting yourself. For some people, these changes can be hard to manage. To get through it, they rely on unhealthy habits that have to do with their bodies and the way they eat.

A sickness that goes beyond food

To truly understand what an eating disorder is, imagine an iceberg. The piece of ice at the surface of the water represents the eating disorder sufferer’s behaviours that we can observe. This can include drastic weight loss, self-isolation, skipping meals, etc. But what’s hidden behind these behaviours (under the water) is a great deal of suffering.

Eating disorders give the sufferers the impression that they’re exercising a level of control over their lives. The disorders allow them to control feelings, conflicts and difficult situations. In a way, they seem to serve as a life jacket during hard times. Eating disorders appear to help, and act like allies, although in reality, of course, this is not the case. This method of adapting to hardships in life is not healthy (but is the only method available to the person at that time) and cannot work in the long term. What’s more, eating disorders come with their own share of consequences.

Who can suffer from an eating disorder?

It’s important to understand that anyone can suffer from an eating disorder, regardless of sex, age, sexual orientation, religion or cultural background.

What are the different eating disorders?

Anorexia

Anorexia is characterised by an intense fear of gaining weight. A person suffering from anorexia will experience particularly strong feelings of shame and guilt after eating. Weight control and the need to become or stay skinny will occupy a large place in that person’s thoughts and in their life (ex: they might weigh themselves several times a week or every day, or constantly calculate how many calories they ingest). Anorexia is also associated with a distorted body image, meaning that the sufferer might feel “fat” even if, in reality, they’re way under a healthy body weight. Someone with anorexia will try to develop an intense level of control over what they eat. Their thoughts and behaviours regarding eating will be extremely rigid or restrictive (ex: the need to completely abstain from eating certain foods in particular).

Anorexia can cause irregular menstrual bleeding, or even make menstruation stop altogether.

We often associate anorexia with thinness. However, it’s important to know that just because someone is skinny, does not mean they suffer from anorexia. Sometimes, a person who suffers from anorexia is very thin because of their eating habits. On the other hand, there are also people who are not skinny at all, who may seem to have a normal body weight or a body weight considered “healthy”, who suffer from anorexia. We cannot rely on body weight alone to be able to tell if someone has an eating disorder.

Bulimia

Bulimia is characterized by a cycle of binge-eating periods (periods of excessive overeating) followed by compensatory measures. In other words, a sufferer of this condition loses control of the way they eat. They ingest a large amount of food in a short amount of time, even if they don’t feel hungry anymore. These episodes of compulsiveness often happen during emotionally trying times.

After these episodes, the person will resort to compensatory measures, sometimes called purging, in order to eliminate the food they have ingested (ex: doing very intense exercise). These periods are accompanied by extreme guilt, self-hate, and negative feelings, both physical and psychological. A person suffering from bulimia is often dissatisfied with their body image and can have obsessions around weight and food. It is difficult to know whether someone is suffering from bulimia, unless you are very emotionally close to the person or are a trained professional. A person suffering from bulimia can appear to be in very good health. They may have a body weight that seems healthy for their size, or may be overweight. For this reason, it’s important to be on the lookout for these signs :

  • If the person constantly talks about their weight and appearance .
  • If they compare their body to those of others
  • If they isolate themselves (are present less and less often at activities with friends, or during meals)
  • If they feel guilty after having eaten too much
  • You can consult the questionnaire Am I at Risk? to learn more.

Binge-Eating Disorder

This disorder is characterised by episodes where the person eats excessive amounts of food, meaning they lose total control of the quantity of food they ingest. They eat to the point when they feel extremely uncomfortable, way past a pleasantly full feeling. People who suffer from binge-eating disorder may eat to calm certain emotions they find difficult to face. For example, when they’re feeling down, are angry, or feeling alone and bored. Food can become, in a way, a source of comfort and give a feeling of well-being.

As you may have guessed, when the person eats in this excessive way, the person suffering from binge-eating disorder feels ashamed and guilty. These episodes of overeating are not followed by compensatory periods. People with binge-eating disorder are generally overweight due to their eating habits. Many of them have tried dieting time and time again, hoping each time to have finally found the solution to lose weight and feel happier.

Eating disorders not otherwise specified

Eating disorders not otherwise specified include problems that don’t exactly meet the criteria for specific eating disorders such as anorexia, bulimia and binge-eating disorder. It’s a sort of “catch-all” category that includes eating disorders we still can’t understand or explain very well.

People suffering from unspecified eating disorders are generally dissatisfied with their bodies and their weight, and this becomes a source of obsession and suffering. They often count calories ceaselessly, use diets for weight loss (constantly trying new diets and new techniques that are in style to lose weight or gain muscle mass), practice overly intensive work-out regimens, etc.

Bigorexia and orthorexia are two examples of eating disorders from this category that we are hearing about more and more often.

Bigorexia

Bigorexia, or muscle dysmorphia, is characterised by the feeling of being too skinny and never muscular enough. Bigorexia is also called reverse anorexia. It’s a disorder that affects primarily men and very athletic people. It is possible for the person suffering from bigorexia to follow strict rules in terms of eating (ex: eating at specific times, eating specific foods), working out (or excessively working out) and, in certain cases, taking supplements. Feelings of shame and guilt are present when the person can’t follow their work-out schedule. Other activities, pastimes and moments of relaxation are put aside in favour of working out.

Orthorexia

Orthorexia is characterised by an obsession with eating healthily. The person suffering from orthorexia is pained by the idea of eating food that they think is “bad” or unhealthy (ex: food that, in this person’s opinion, contains too much fat, salt, sugar, or artificial ingredients). The person will concentrate mostly on the quality of their food. They will put a lot of restrictions on what they eat, and if they disobey their diet’s rules, they will feel extremely guilty. Due to the extremity of their behaviour, meals with friends or at restaurants become too difficult to handle, and this leads to self-isolation. Planning, buying, and preparing food become their everyday activities. Food becomes the most important thing in life, at the expense of everything else.

What are the possible consequences of an eating disorder?

The physical, psychological and social consequences of eating disorders are numerous and serious. When left untreated, eating disorders can lead to death. Fortunately, the majority of consequences are reversible, meaning that they will no longer be present with recovery (if the person begins eating in a balanced way again and stops using compensatory measures).

Learn more

Is recovery possible?

It is possible to completely recover from an eating disorder. However, it is important to know that there is no miracle solution and that a person cannot recover alone. Recovery is possible with the help of professionals. During the process of finding help and healing, it’s also important for the person recovering to have support from people around them. Apart from parents and guardians (who will have a major role to play), this can be a very trusted friend who will be there during hard times.

The road that leads to recovery can seem long and hard, but it is worth the effort! Recovery means living fully (and not just surviving), becoming a whole person, fulfilling goals in life and going after dreams (like pursuing an education and getting a job in the field that inspires you, or the chance to start a family if that’s important to you).

FOR MORE INFORMATION, BY HERE!

Share your story

Express yourself !

Ligne d'écoute 1 800 630-0907 (ailleurs au Québec, sans frais) 514 630-0907 (Montréal)

C’est quoi un trouble alimentaire?

Tu as sans doute déjà remarqué que nos émotions et la façon dont nous nous alimentons sont intimement reliées. Penses-y… t’est-il déjà arrivé de ne pas manger, car tu étais stressé (la veille d’un examen, par exemple)? De manger pour calmer ta peine et te sentir mieux? De sauter un repas, car tu te sens gros ou grosse? De te sentir coupable après avoir mangé un aliment en particulier?

Nous éprouvons tous, à différents degrés, de la difficulté à s’alimenter de façon équilibrée, à apprécier notre corps et à le traiter de la meilleure façon qui soit. Sache qu’il n’y a pas de mal en soi à manger un peu plus qu’à sa faim de temps à autre, de manger un aliment qui te fait plaisir pour apaiser ta peine. Par contre, cela peut devenir problématique quand la nourriture, le fait de manger ou de ne pas manger, est la seule façon que tu as de gérer les émotions avec lesquelles tu es moins à l’aise. Certaines personnes finissent par développer ce que l’on appelle un trouble alimentaire en réponse à une ou à des situations difficiles.

Tu as sans doute déjà entendu parler de l’anorexie ou encore de la boulimie; c’étaient les troubles alimentaires les plus connus, jusqu’à tout récemment. Aujourd’hui, on commence à parler de plus en plus, grâce à l’avancée des recherches, des autres troubles alimentaires, tels que l’hyperphagie boulimique et les troubles alimentaires non spécifiés (comme la bigorexie). Les troubles alimentaires sont des troubles de santé mentale complexes, à ne pas prendre à la légère.

Quelles sont les causes des troubles alimentaires?

Il existe une multitude de facteurs qui font en sorte qu’une personne souffre d’un trouble alimentaire. Cela veut dire qu’il n’y a pas qu’une seule cause, mais bien une combinaison de facteurs qui mènera une personne à développer un trouble alimentaire.

En savoir plus

Quelle est la période la plus propice au développement d’un trouble alimentaire?

L’adolescence et la période « jeune adulte », soit de 14 à 25 ans, représentent le moment où tu es le plus à risque de développer un trouble alimentaire. Pourquoi? L’adolescence et le début de l’âge adulte sont des moments où l’on expérimente beaucoup de nouveautés, de changements et d’évènements stressants. Notamment, le passage d’un niveau scolaire à un autre, les premières relations amoureuses et sexuelles, la puberté, le déménagement de chez ses parents ou tuteurs pour vivre seul ou en colocation, l’arrivée sur le marché du travail, etc.

C’est une période d’adaptation où tu es en quête d’identité, où tu apprends à te connaître, à te forger une personnalité et à t’affirmer. Bref, pour certaines personnes, ces événements peuvent être difficiles à gérer et pour passer au travers, elles auront recours à des comportements malsains par rapport à leur corps et à l’alimentation.

Une maladie au-delà de la nourriture

Pour bien comprendre ce qu’est un trouble alimentaire, nous t’invitons à imaginer un iceberg. Le morceau de glace à la surface de l’eau représente les comportements que l’on est en mesure d’observer chez une personne qui souffre d’un trouble alimentaire. Par exemple, une perte de poids drastique, le fait de s’isoler et de sauter des repas, etc. Se cache derrière ces comportements (en dessous de l’eau) une grande souffrance.

Les troubles alimentaires donnent l’impression aux gens qui en souffrent d’exercer un certain contrôle sur leur vie. Ils leur permettent de gérer des sentiments, des conflits ou  des situations difficiles. Ils leur servent, en quelque sorte, de bouée de sauvetage lors d’une période douloureuse. Dit ainsi, les troubles alimentaires semblent être aidants et semblent être des alliés, ce qui n’est en fait pas le cas. Tu auras compris que cette façon de s’adapter aux exigences de la vie n’est pas saine (mais c’est la seule que possède la personne à ce moment) et qu’elle ne peut fonctionner à long terme. Les troubles alimentaires ont d’ailleurs leur lot de conséquences.

Qui peut souffrir d’un trouble alimentaire?

Il est important de noter que peu importe son âge, son sexe, son orientation sexuelle, sa religion et ses origines culturelles, une personne peut souffrir d’un trouble alimentaire.

Quels sont les différents troubles alimentaires?

Anorexie

L’anorexie se caractérise par une peur intense de prendre du poids. Une personne qui souffre d’anorexie éprouvera des sentiments de honte et de culpabilité particulièrement forts après avoir mangé. Le contrôle de son poids et le fait de devoir rester mince occuperont une place importante dans ses pensées et dans sa vie (ex. la personne peut se peser plusieurs fois par semaine, voire par jour, calculer constamment les calories qu’elle ingère). L’anorexie est aussi associée à une distorsion de l’image corporelle, c’est-à-dire que la personne peut se sentir « grosse », même si en réalité, elle est bien en dessous de son poids santé. Une personne aux prises avec ce trouble alimentaire tentera d’exercer un contrôle exagéré sur ce qu’elle mange. Elle présentera des comportements et des pensées très rigides au sujet de l’alimentation (ex. la fait de s’interdire certains aliments en particulier).

Chez les filles, l’anorexie peut engendrer des irrégularités menstruelles, voire l’arrêt complet des menstruations.

On associe souvent anorexie et maigreur. Il importe de savoir que ce n’est pas parce qu’une personne a un faible poids qu’elle souffre d’anorexie. Il arrive qu’une personne qui souffre d’anorexie soit très maigre, compte tenu de ses comportements alimentaires. Par contre, sache qu’une personne peut ne pas être maigre, avoir un poids qui semble sain pour elle ou être considérée au-dessus de son poids « santé », et souffrir d’anorexie. On ne peut se fier uniquement au poids pour dire que quelqu’un souffre d’anorexie.

Boulimie

La boulimie se caractérise par un cycle de compulsions alimentaires (aussi appelées crises alimentaires) suivi de comportements compensatoires. En d’autres mots, la personne qui souffre de boulimie perd le contrôle de son alimentation. Elle  ingère une grande quantité de nourriture en très peu de temps, même si son corps ne ressent plus la faim. Ces épisodes, appelés crises alimentaires (ou compulsions), peuvent avoir lieu dans des moments particulièrement éprouvants émotionnellement.

Par la suite, la personne aura recours à des comportements qu’on dit « compensatoires », c’est-à-dire qui visent à éliminer la nourriture qu’elle a absorbée (ex. faire de l’exercice de façon très intensive). Ces moments sont accompagnés d’une grande culpabilité, d’un dénigrement de soi et d’un malaise tant physique que psychologique. La personne qui souffre de boulimie est souvent insatisfaite de son image corporelle et présente des obsessions face à son poids et à la nourriture. Il est difficile de détecter si une personne souffre de boulimie, à moins d’être près émotionnellement de la personne ou d’être un intervenant. Une personne qui souffre de boulimie peut sembler en très bonne santé. Elle peut avoir un poids qui semble sain pour elle ou encore être considérée en surpoids. Il faut donc être aux aguets des indices suivants :

  • Si la personne parle constamment de son poids et de son apparence.
  • Si elle compare son corps avec celui des autres.
  • Si elle s’isole (est de moins en moins présente lors d’activités entre amis, lors des repas).
  • Si elle se sent coupable après avoir trop mangé.
  • Tu peux consulter le questionnaire Suis-je à risque? pour t’éclairer davantage.

Hyperphagie boulimique

Ce trouble se caractérise par des épisodes où la personne mange des quantités particulièrement excessives de nourriture, c’est-à-dire qu’elle perd totalement le contrôle de la quantité d’aliment qu’elle ingère. Elle mange au point où elle se sent très inconfortable, soit bien au-delà de sa faim. Les personnes qui souffrent d’hyperphagie peuvent manger pour calmer certaines émotions qu’elles trouvent plus difficiles. Par exemple, lorsqu’elles ont de la peine, sont en colère ou encore se sentent seules et s’ennuient. La nourriture peut devenir, en quelque sorte, une source de réconfort et de bien-être pour elle.

Comme tu dois t’en douter, lorsqu’elle mange de façon excessive, la personne qui souffre d’hyperphagie, se sent honteuse et coupable. Ces épisodes de crise ne sont pas suivis de comportements dits  compensatoires. Les personnes aux prises avec l’hyperphagie sont souvent en surpoids, en raison de leurs comportements alimentaires. Elles ont recours ou ont eu recours à des régimes amaigrissants (diètes) à répétition, en espérant à chaque fois avoir enfin trouvé la solution pour perdre du poids et se sentir plus heureuses.

Troubles alimentaires non spécifiés

Les troubles alimentaires non spécifiés englobent les problématiques qui ne répondent pas précisément à l’ensemble des critères des troubles alimentaires spécifiques tels que l’anorexie, la boulimie et l’hyperphagie boulimique. Il s’agit, en quelque sorte, d’une catégorie « fourre-tout » qui comprend les troubles alimentaires que l’on ne peut encore bien expliquer et comprendre.

Les personnes qui souffrent d’un trouble alimentaire non spécifié sont généralement insatisfaites de leur corps et de leur poids, qui deviennent une source d’obsessions et de souffrance. Les personnes qui en sont atteintes peuvent compter sans cesse les calories, avoir recours aux régimes amaigrissants (elles essaient constamment de nouveaux régimes et de nouvelles techniques à la mode pour perdre du poids ou devenir plus musclé), adopter des habitudes de surentraînement, etc.

La bigorexie et l’orthorexie sont deux exemples de troubles alimentaires non spécifiés dont on entend parler de plus en plus.

Bigorexie

La bigorexie ou dysmorphie musculaire se caractérise par une impression d’être trop mince et jamais assez musclé. La bigorexie est aussi nommée anorexie inversée. Il s’agit d’un trouble alimentaire qui touche plus particulièrement les hommes, ainsi que les personnes dans le milieu sportif. Il est possible que la personne atteinte de bigorexie instaure des règles strictes face à son alimentation (ex. manger à des heures précises, des aliments en particulier), aux entraînements (surentraînement) et dans certains cas, à la prise de suppléments. Des sentiments de culpabilité et de honte sont présents lorsque la personne concernée ne réussit pas à suivre l’horaire d’entraînement qu’elle s’est donné. Les autres activités, loisirs et moments de détente sont mis de côté au profit de l’entraînement.

Orthorexie

L’orthorexie se caractérise par l’obsession de manger sainement. La personne qui souffre d’orthorexie est angoissée à l’idée de manger de la nourriture qu’elle juge mauvaise ou malsaine (ex. de la nourriture, qui, pour elle, contient trop de gras, de sel, de sucre ou de substances artificielles). Elle se concentre principalement sur la qualité de son alimentation. Elle s’impose plusieurs restrictions et le fait de déroger de son régime alimentaire est synonyme de grande culpabilité. En raison de l’ampleur de ces comportements, les repas entre amis ou au restaurant deviennent trop difficiles à gérer et amènent la personne à s’isoler. La planification, l’achat et la préparation des aliments dominent ses activités quotidiennes. La nourriture devient, en quelque sorte, la chose la plus importante de sa vie, au détriment du reste.

Quelles sont les conséquences possibles d’un trouble alimentaire?

Les conséquences physiques, psychologiques et sociales d’un trouble alimentaire sont nombreuses et graves. Non-traités, les troubles alimentaires peuvent mener à la mort.
Sache qu’heureusement, la majorité des conséquences sont réversibles, ce qui veut dire qu’elles ne seront plus présentes avec le rétablissement (si la personne se remet à manger de façon équilibrée et cesse les comportements compensatoires).

En savoir plus

Est-ce possible de guérir?

Il est possible de guérir complètement d’un trouble alimentaire. Par contre, sache qu’il n’existe pas de solution miracle et qu’une personne ne peut s’en sortir seule. Le rétablissement est possible avec l’aide de professionnels. À travers le processus de recherche d’aide et de guérison, il est également important de s’allier à des personnes de son entourage que l’on considère significatives. Outre les parents ou tuteurs (qui auront un rôle majeur à jouer), il peut s’agir  d’un ou une amie en qui l’on a confiance et qui sera là dans des moments plus difficiles.

Le chemin qui mène à la guérison peut sembler long et difficile, mais il en vaut la peine! La guérison permet de vivre pleinement (et non survivre), de se réaliser et d’atteindre certains objectifs de vie, et de réaliser des rêves (comme la poursuite de ses études et l’obtention d’une carrière dans le domaine qui nous inspire ou la possibilité de fonder une famille si c’est quelque chose qui nous tient à coeur).

POUR PLUS D’INFOS, PAR ICI!

Partage ton histoire

Exprime-toi !